Alphabetical List

Ernst, Catherine

(Animal Science), Transcriptional regulation and QTL discovery in pigs; genetics of skeletal muscle development and behavior. ernstc@msu.edu

Ewart, Susan

(Large Animal Clinical Sciences), Genetic and epigenetic risk factors for asthma and allergic disease; gene x environment interactions. ewarts@msu.edu

Farre, Eva Maria

(Plant Biology), Plant circadian clock and its role in plant growth and development. farre@msu.edu

Foran, David R.

(Integrative Biology), DNA isolation and profiling from forensic samples, technique development, forensic casework. foran@msu.edu

Gallant, Jason

(Integrative Biology), The Gallant lab is interested in understanding the genomic basis for the orgin and diversification of electrogenesis in teleost fishes. jgallant@msu.edu

Ganz, Julia

(Integrative Biology), Development and regeneration of the enteric nervous system (ENS) in zebrafish; Zebrafish CRISPR gene knock-out models for ENS diseases; Signaling pathways in neural crest development. ganz@msu.edu

Garavito, R. Michael

(Biochemistry and Molecular Biology), Structure and function of membrane proteins involved in organelle biogenesis and maintenance; protein crystallography. garavito@msu.edu

Gondro, Cedric

(Animal Science) Genetic architecture of complex traits and genomic prediction, livestock genetics, particularly beef cattle and beef quality, artificial Intelligence and computational statistics methods applied to genomics. gondroce@msu.edu

Grumet, Rebecca

(Horticulture), Molecular genetics and genomics of plant development and disease resistance grumet@msu.edu

Gulbransen, Brian

(Physiology), Genomic alterations to specific cells in the nervous system that contribute to neuroinflammation in gastrointestinal disease. gulbrans@msu.edu

Hamberger, Bjoern

(Biochemistry and Molecular Biology) An emerging field — synthetic biology — is attempting to broadly address the need for more nutritious food, improved prevention and treatment of diseases, renewable energy sources and protection for the environment. hamberge@msu.edu

He, Sheng Yang

(Plant Biology & DOE Plant Research Lab), Molecular interactions between plants and pathogenic bacteria. hes@msu.edu

Henry, R. William

(Biochemistry and Molecular Biology), Mechanisms of transcriptional regulation by tumor suppressor proteins. Role of the RB tumor suppressor family in non-coding RNA gene transcription.henryrw@msu.edu

Hoffmann, Hanne

(Animal Science) Impact of seasonal changes in day length on genetic control of reproduction, transgenic mouse models, transcriptional control of gene expression. hanne@msu.edu

 

Hoffmann-Benning, Susanne

(Biochemistry and Molecular Biology), The role of lipids and small molecules in intracellular and long-distance signaling in plant development and the response to environmental changes.hoffma16@msu.edu

Howe, Gregg A.

(Biochemistry and Molecular Biology & DOE Plant Research Lab), Hormone signaling for control of plant growth, defense, and energy partitioning. howeg@msu.edu

Hsu, Polly

(Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology) Using experimental and computational approaches to study genome-wide mRNA translation and identify novel peptides; plant responses under diurnal cycles and environmental stress; circadian rhythms. pollyhsu@msu.edu

Hu, Jianping

(Plant Biology & DOE Plant Research Lab), Molecular regulation of the dynamics of plant energy organelles peroxisomes and mitochondria. huji@msu.edu

Huang, Wen

(Animal Science), Genetics and evolution of complex quantitative traits using a combination of computational and empirical approaches. huangw53@msu.edu

Jiang, Jiming

(Plant Biology and Horticulture), Genetics, epigenetics, and epigenomics of Arabidopsis thaliana and crop species. jiangjm@msu.edu

Jiang, Ning

(Horticulture), The relationship of transposable elements and their host organisms; how transposable elements shaped their host genomes while amplifying themselves. jiangn@msu.edu

Josephs, Emily

(Plant Biology), Plant Evolutionary Genetics and Genomics. josep993@msu.edu

Kaminski, Norbert

(Pharmacology & Toxicology), Mechanisms of toxicant/gene interactions leading to impaired immune regulation and function. kamins11@msu.edu

Knickmeyer, Rebecca

(Pediatrics and Human Development), Child Development, Integration of Genetic Data with Neuroimaging, Microbiome-gut-brain Axis, Sexual Differentiation of the Human Brain, Neurodevelopmental Disorders, Turner Syndrome. knickmey@msu.edu