Genetics of Animal and Plant Improvement

Benning, Christoph

(Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and DOE Plant Research Lab), Biosynthesis, turnover, trafficking and function of lipids in photosynthetic organisms; genetics, genomics and engineering of algae and plants.benning@msu.edu

Buell, Robin

(Plant Biology), Genome biology of plants including domestication, genetic diversity, pan-genome analyses and biochemical pathway discovery in model species, crops, and medicinal plants. buell@msu.edu

Cheng, Hans H.

(USDA Avian Disease and Oncology Laboratory), Structural and functional genomics of disease resistance in chicken. hcheng@msu.edu

Ducat, Danny

(Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; and MSU/DOE Plant Research Lab), Molecular and synthetic biology approaches for the study of cyanobacterial core metabolism and redirection of photosynthetic pathways for the production of 'green' fuels and commodity products; mixed cyanobacteria-heterotroph microbial consortia. ducatdan@msu.edu

Ernst, Catherine

(Animal Science), Transcriptional regulation and QTL discovery in pigs; genetics of skeletal muscle development and behavior. ernstc@msu.edu

Gallant, Jason

(Integrative Biology), The Gallant lab is interested in understanding the genomic basis for the orgin and diversification of electrogenesis in teleost fishes. jgallant@msu.edu

Gondro, Cedric

(Animal Science) Genetic architecture of complex traits and genomic prediction, livestock genetics, particularly beef cattle and beef quality, artificial Intelligence and computational statistics methods applied to genomics. gondroce@msu.edu

Grumet, Rebecca

(Horticulture), Molecular genetics and genomics of plant development and disease resistance grumet@msu.edu

Howe, Gregg

(Biochemistry and Molecular Biology & DOE Plant Research Lab), Hormone signaling for control of plant growth, defense, and energy partitioning. howeg@msu.edu

Hsu, Polly

(Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology) Using experimental and computational approaches to study genome-wide mRNA translation and identify novel peptides; plant responses under diurnal cycles and environmental stress; circadian rhythms. pollyhsu@msu.edu

Huang, Wen

(Animal Science), Genetics and evolution of complex quantitative traits using a combination of computational and empirical approaches. huangw53@msu.edu

Lundquist, Peter

(Biochemistry and Molecular Biology) Plant resilience to environmental stresses; chloroplast molecular biology, biochemistry, and molecular genetics; regulation of photosynthesis and plastid metabolism pklundqu@msu.edu

Ralston, Amy

(Biochemistry and Molecular Biology), Mammalian stem cells and development. aralston@msu.edu

Steibel, Juan Pedro

(Animal Science and Fisheries and Wildlife), Statistical genomics and phenomics; analysis and design of transcriptional profiling experiments; Genome-wide association analysis of quantitative traits in outbred populations; Animal quantitative genomics; Precision Animal Agriculture. steibelj@msu.edu

Takahashi, Hideki

(Biochemistry and Molecular Biology) Molecular mechanisms of nitrogen and sulfur utilization in plants; root development, nutrient sensing, transport and metabolism. htakaha@msu.edu

Van Nocker, Steve

(Horticulture), Chromatin control of gene expression in plant development, histone code, transcription, epigenomics. vannocke@msu.edu

Venta, Patrick

(Microbiology and Molecular Genetics; and Small Animal Clinical Sciences), Mammalian genome mapping; genetics of diseases. venta@msu.edu

Xiao, Hua

(Physiology), Roles of transcription cofactors in breast and liver cancers; mechanism and regulation of gene expression. xiaoh@msu.edu