Genetics of Inherited Diseases

Chen, Chen

(Animal Science), Mammalian germ/stem cell biology and mouse models of human infertility. chen2@msu.edu

Cox, Charles Lee

(Physiology), Neurophysiology and pharmacology of neocortical and thalamic neurons in the mammalian central nervous system. coxclee@msu.edu

Ewart, Susan

(Large Animal Clinical Sciences), Genetic and epigenetic risk factors for asthma and allergic disease; gene x environment interactions. ewarts@msu.edu

Ganz, Julia

(Integrative Biology), Development and regeneration of the enteric nervous system (ENS) in zebrafish; Zebrafish CRISPR gene knock-out models for ENS diseases; Signaling pathways in neural crest development. ganz@msu.edu

Komaromy, Andras

(Small Animal Clinical Sciences), Investigation of molecular and cellular disease mechanisms of inherited retinal and optic nerve disorders. Development of new treatments using gene therapy and neuroprotective agents. komaromy@cvm.msu.edu

Parameswaran, Narayanan

(Physiology), Molecular mechanisms of inflammation and disease; Receptor biology and signal transducion. narap@msu.edu

Petersen-Jones, Simon

(Small Animal Clinical Sciences) Hereditary eye disease in animals, particularly in dogs and cats to identify causal gene mutations, understand disease mechanisms and explore therapeutic approaches, in particular gene therapy. peter315@cvm.msu.edu

Robison, A. J.

(Physiology), Research focuses on how mouse models of drug addiction, chronic stress, and learning alter gene expression in discreet brain regions to regulate drug-, mood-, and learning- related behaviors. robiso45@msu.edu

Teixeira, Jose

(Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Biology), Reproductive tract and gonadal development, uterine and ovarian tumorigenesis. Jose.Teixeira@hc.msu.edu

Venta, Patrick

(Microbiology and Molecular Genetics; and Small Animal Clinical Sciences), Mammalian genome mapping; genetics of diseases. venta@msu.edu

Yu, Kefei

(Microbiology and Molecular Genetics), Molecular immunology, recombination and class switching in immunoglobulin genes. yuke@msu.edu

Yuzbasiyan-Gurkan, Villma

(Microbiology and Molecular Genetics; and Small Animal Clinical Sciences), Comparative mammalian genetics, cancer genetics, stem cell biology, drug discovery and novel therapeutic approaches. vygsu@msu.edu